Archive for December 4, 2015

Film Festival Response

When Prof Ma announced at the beginning of the semester that we had to put on our own film festival, I felt overwhelmed and incredibly nervous. I had never put on a “film festival” before, let alone with filmmakers that were going to be involved in the end product. Before coming into this class, I had little knowledge of Asian American film; however, I had taken Asian American literature classes, as I did enjoy a lot. In my experience with Asian American literature, the material was extremely depressing and sad, as the Asian American experience through literature has been a rough and difficult one. Entering into this class, I was nervous that the films would follow this, but I was pleasantly surprised. My favorite programs were the shorts, as they were filled with information and creativity.

 

I worked a little with Farah Goes Bang, and I thought that it was interesting to see her film, in relation to the other films that we watched. Most of the films and filmmakers were of East Asian decent, so it was interesting to see her point of view and response to racism in the United States through her film since she is of Persian American decent. Discussing how we were going to introduce Meera Menon was extremely exciting because she has received so many rewards and has been recognized for her work by many successful and extraordinary people that I admire.

 

I think my favorite part of the film festival was the promotional aspect. Although the poster that was produced by students was not approved to be hung around the campus, I think that networking and promotional work is extremely rewarding. Reaching out to different groups on campus and promoting this film festival was exciting because we all had put so much work into creating this film festival, and was hopeful that people were genuinely interested in seeing the festival.

 

I think that the festival turned out to be a success and I hope that the filmmakers were happy with the company and the festival itself.

-Nicole Zwiener

December 4, 2015 at 10:59 pm 1 comment


Calendar

December 2015
M T W T F S S
« Nov    
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Posts by Month

Posts by Category