Film Festival Reflection

December 6, 2012 at 9:53 pm Leave a comment

When we first took on the film festival project, I was a bit worried about how well it would go. I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. First of all, I now have a lot of respect for film festival planners. It took a lot of work to put on our small four program festival, I can’t even imagine the work that goes into large scale festivals. I ended up really enjoying the process of narrowing down our feature/short film options and coming up with the final Engaging Pasts program. One of my favorite parts of the initial programming was coming up with a viewing order for the films; deciding what would flow best, and how these short pieces could work together to tell a larger story.

Secondly, I wish we had started planning a little bit earlier. This experience really showed me the importance of marketing, and I think we struggled with promotion a little bit and getting the word out. It would have been amazing to see a bigger turn out at the screenings. Especially because the filmmakers present had such amazing things to say. While it was of course a little intimidating, I really enjoyed having the filmmakers present and getting to interact with them. Listening to the filmmakers each talk about their work was really special. And there responses to the questions asked were great. My favorite part of our program was the Q&A session, while I wish we had had a bigger audience, the small number allowed the Q&A to be intimate and relaxed. One of my favorite moments during the Q&A was when the filmmakers unanimously agreed that they liked the order we chose to screen the films in and complimented our organization of the program. To get such a positive response from them felt amazing. All in all this festival was a fantastic opportunity and learning experience for me.

By Izzy Michaelson

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Fever Dream: An Asian American Girlfriend’s Take on Yellow Fever Reflections on Film Festival

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

December 2012
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts


